Lobby

1888 lobby

History

BUILT IN 1888

Hotel del Coronado’s lobby was originally called the Rotunda and was primarily for men – complete with a cigar and newsstand, spittoons and tiled floors. An early social hub, women would watch the action from the Ladies Gallery above.

lobby rendering

Restoration

DEBUTING JULY 2021

The lobby will receive a refresh as part of the Front Porch Restoration Project. The historic wood will be stripped down to it’s original layer, revealing the original wood color. Wood beams throughout the lobby will be reinforced with steel beams and the flooring will be replaced with modern materials chosen to mimic the original floors.

lobby rendering

Future Use

Upon completion, the historic lobby will continue to welcome guests to the hotel. It’s timeless grandeur and detailed wood work will be preserved for generations to come.